Decaying potatoes

The Diary of a Teenage Girl (a movie review, you ain’t getting a peek into mine)

Here it is; my first movie review. I’m aware that nothing makes me qualified to write a movie review other than I love movies and I watch a lot of them. I’ll admit my comments regarding movies usually consist of “it looked very pretty”, “I loled” or “I fell asleep”. Nevertheless, I simply needed to have a category called ‘Decaying Potatoes’ because I think I’m funny.

“The Diary of a Teenage Girl” is the sort of film that my friends would describe as a ‘gemma’ movie. The title is of acceptable length (I like long titles), it’s quirky and it fits in the coming-of-age genre. It ticks all my boxes. Oh and in addition to that it’s #relatable…even if I don’t happen to be fucking my mother’s boyfriend.

Screenshot (12)

Essentially, the movie is about the sexual awakening of Minnie Goetz. She records her experiences through an audio diary, revealing details that I wouldn’t even dream of writing down in mine, resulting in a sense of rawness. ‘The Diary of a Teenage Girl’ does not stray from awkward topics, in fact, it embraces them. Perhaps the decor of Minnie’s room is too perfectly disorganised but this film feels honest and real.  My life is nothing like Minnie’s yet I could see so much of myself in her, she’s a true depiction of what it’s like to be a teenage girl. I believe we can owe this to Marielle Heller, the director and screenwriter, and the fearless performance by Bel Powley. This movie shows girls and women how we really are, not some false impression that a man has of us. This truly emphasises the necessity of female screenwriters and directors in the film industry.

Screenshot (10)

Oh and ‘The Diary of a Teenage Girl’ looked very pretty, I loled and I didn’t even fall asleep.

 

Leave a Reply

